How to create Vacuum chamber
02-17-2017, 12:16 PM
How to create Vacuum chamber
Hello,

I am a newbie learner on MRI system. I am fascinated about superconducting magnet in MRI , which using Liquid helium ,
to prevent helium for boiling off, we need to give vacuum chamber as insulating layer. we can see in this picture below
[Image: vacumm-chamber-on-mri.html]

[Image: Untitled.png]

that picture make me really curious. how does one physically made a vacuum chamber. I am not asking how to suck out the air from it.I mean, if you think about it. Vacuum chamber contain nothing in it right, so how does it suspend their inner layer, which contain liquid helium and coil. the inner core cannot just floating right? there gonna be some way to suspend the inner core.

if somebody may say there is metallic foundation inside the vacuum chamber, so that the inner core is suspend, then the temperature will flow by conduction right.?

so there must be non metallic thing inside vacuum chamber to suspend the inner core? is that right?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-14-2017, 05:35 PM
Lightbulb RE: How to create Vacuum chamber
(02-17-2017 12:16 PM)hansfryko Wrote:  Hello,

I am a newbie learner on MRI system. I am fascinated about superconducting magnet in MRI , which using Liquid helium ,
to prevent helium for boiling off, we need to give vacuum chamber as insulating layer. we can see in this picture below

that picture make me really curious. how does one physically made a vacuum chamber. I am not asking how to suck out the air from it.I mean, if you think about it. Vacuum chamber contain nothing in it right, so how does it suspend their inner layer, which contain liquid helium and coil. the inner core cannot just floating right? there gonna be some way to suspend the inner core.

if somebody may say there is metallic foundation inside the vacuum chamber, so that the inner core is suspend, then the temperature will flow by conduction right.?